I forgot how to dare… did you ?

Edges, slipping away

Bozo girl in Bamako, Mali, West Africa, aug 2007

Bozo girl in Bamako, Mali, West Africa, aug 2007 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

towards me

pieces of Peace

freedom

returning to what I dreamed of, but

so quickly forgot when

fear took over.

This is how it used to feel,

this is how it looked – how can time leave and return as if

nothing happened in between ?

I will never understand it all completely, and that

in itself is such a liberation…

My friend Tana  says my poems are arrogant and

even difficult to understand,

oh Tana, isn’t this what we knew when we were kids

and then we slipped away and forgot to stand on edges

we forgot to climb trees, among the other ways we forgot

to be, didn’t we ?

Slipping Away (Moby song)

Slipping Away (Moby song) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I do not ever want to be afraid again, or pretend I

understand it all. A child is happy to ask, to seek, knock,

they are unafraid of being smaller than the universe,

we are so much smaller than we know, aren’t we ,

and isn’t that why kids climb trees and stare at

books or bears and worms, isnt that why they are willing

to risk so much : new roads and dare…

I forgot to dare….

did you ?

Children playing soccer, Dogon region, Mali

Children playing soccer, Dogon region, Mali (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

2 Comments

Filed under friend, India, Life, peace, people, poetry

2 responses to “I forgot how to dare… did you ?

  1. Dear friend, allow me to nominate you for Liebster Award… please have a look at the following link:

    http://itsmywalls.blogspot.in/2013/03/my-first-liebster-award.html

  2. Kramer

    Loved this piece of writing – little did I understand it but I can relate to the pictures it paints in my mind and to forgotten dreams 🙂

Leave a Reply

