Dad…

375173_10151136784435287_395978875_n

Dad & I at camp fire DP, Kuppam

 

 

 

 

 

 

All the words I want to say, fall like silent roses I never gave you, maybe once or twice, I was that little not so studious child, and you my mentor,

you gave me PG Wodehouse and Tenali Raman, recipes for Sambhar and my first cycling lessons, oh the days, after school finals, reading late, waking late, you and I

at your work spot, Mandvi by the sea…recently I heard you say I was so brave : at that boat ride into deep sea, Kutch, to an ocean Liner – Β it stunned me

that I was brave Β – that the heaving tide did not scare me, how quick the mind forgets ; but you did not ; and I see how tall you stand, though you lean harder, you look longer, as if savouring, everything,

like me, when I am with you. The days are sweet, precious, quiet. I am older, you grew me up so tall, and now I don’t know where I’d be without you, father

my precious, precious Β Father

 

 

22 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

22 responses to “Dad…

  1. InnerDialect

    Rihaansh, I just saw this – oh am not as brave as it may appear,

  2. brave dad’s brave girl… kudos to the pair.

  3. jahidakhtar

    Nice write up !

  4. really lovely thoughts on this father’s day….

  5. precious indeed !! the days when our dad’s are the tallest and the strongest.. the hero ..
    the waterfall of feelings ..emotions .. affection .. learning .. I feel all drenched in the water of memories ..
    thanks for sharing Rayla !! πŸ™‚
    Snap looks nice … !!

  6. full of emotions πŸ™‚ lovely

    • InnerDialect

      Yep .. its so good being a daughter, but I often feel unable to show enough for all our parents have done

  7. Very simple yet says a lot πŸ™‚ Lovely post.

  8. You’ve woven just a handful of words so well, and conveyed those deep emotions… Lovely piece of writing, a wonderful tribute to your dad πŸ™‚

  9. Short and Sweet…Liked it very much

  10. Simple Words- weaved so well. Cycling lessons,somehow, in every household- only Dad gives. Reminded me of my cycle learning days.

  11. Wow- simple words weaved well. So true, Cycling Lessons – somehow in every house – only Dad Gives. Reminded me of my Cycle Learning days.

Leave a Reply

