Music from an Untouchable …

Castes

Castes (Photo credit: M J M)

cropped-394395_496449837086849_916782431_n1.jpgThe room fell silent. Then he began to play – as if his soul were talking a new language. Here no one was asking details on paper.No one asked him his age or place of birth, his mother tongue, caste or creed. Why would they.

Later he talked about casteism. He sang about love and hate as if he knew them like they were triplets, born and suckled in the same house. As if they had shared the same bath water, but one of them was Untouchable.  How awful it reads, writing about this, but he sang about it, not with disgust, not even indifference, but a trust. A trust that someone  somewhere would hear and make amends. Someone would begin to think. Yes, there are still people who are barred not for crime, but for being born in a ‘ lower caste community’ .  There  is still a Race paid to do unmentionable ‘ fourth class ‘ work, while we  choose daintily between Love and Hate , or what to wear or not wear, what to be hurt by, or not hurt by.

But those were not the words this child-man sang as we sat there listening. It was a new kind of creed. A new genre. An Indian’s love for his people, a people that gave him a caste.

Untouchable

And I still do not understand the word ” Untouchable”, I really do not know how we can go on pretending it does not exist in a country that does Vogue and Cannes and Pizza parlours and Bookers. I mean how can we just go on as if there aren’t communities that are dying to be heard. Literally.

After I post this post, what must I do. I have no clue. I will get on with my sweet life, my angelic prayers and poetry. My dreams of writing a book….. what will I write about that will grab a market by its throat and maybe pay my bills and marry my kids off to nice people.

Where are all the nice people ? Who are the nice people? Will they respond to this? Should they ? Isn’t there almost too much to say, and it is tiresome, and we’d rather just be. Because. Well, I do not know. I’m just another like you. Working hard at something I need to work on. The Touchables. Dreams. Ah. One of my friends would say, ” No Ray Dreams are Untouchables too.Beyond us. Not necessarily negative.Maybe I am negative..”

So.

What is Untouchable.

What is Touchable.

Who will tell me. Who Can ?

When.

..

Lyrix&Life 

………

I JUST GOT MAIL AND VERY WORTHY OF MENTION :  

“Dear Lyrics of Life – it’s not just the Dalits or who ever you meant when you wrote this and my deepest sympathies – if there is anything anything at all I could do, I would do it, only how ? Who will tellus ? And the people who can, won’t read this post. MAY NOT I am saying. But here is my mention : THERE ARE ALL KINDS OF UNTOUCHABLES IN OUR SOCIETY. The lonely people, the rejects without money, and have no place to go for work or anything. We have become  indifferent. At least the ‘ caste – victims’ have a voice now. There are some like us, have no voice. Because somebody is just alone. with no friend. They have no nice appearance or house address. Even internet.  We are the untouchables also.. “

signed/-

ANONYMOUS INDIAN.

Dear Anonymous Indian,

I wish this were easily answered, it is not just an Indian dilemma.

The worst condition is said to be the state of  loneliness, of feeling isolated in a fast-paced world. A kind of n0-mans’ land where one feels trapped and at a loss.  We all go thru’ it, and some of us might take years to find our feet again, you know ? Find health, good jobs and friends…  its a crazy thing called Existence, and I wish I had the answer. This Blog is just a reflection of our times, a Journal of the days you and I live, and try to make a good life. I like Lauren Hill‘s Speech to High school Kids (UTube) that I have attached. It is 12 minutes, do listen if you would.  Esp her last sentence ….

I wish you would not remain anonymous, in your own life.. cherish your face, the road that got you here – remember it. It will serve you well oneday. Your   external Address is not permanent. I should know. I’ve lived and lived and will not stop. Am now at Peace only when am Moving. Don’t want fancy footwear, I just want running shoes and places to go.  I wish nice things for the kids, but for me, I ask the strength, dear God to go as many miles as I can in this life,  hear every whisper He whispers in the dark, and shout it from the roof tops.  Yes we’re all outcastes. If we say so. And I believe the worst offender is the one who keeps others down. Not just in parliament or temple backlanes. The worst of us are the meanies, the bullies in the street, the cowards who will never encourage each other. If you’re not one of those, Anonymous Indian, you’re safe… 🙂

What is your real address is the YOU INSIDE. WE NEED OUR TRUE IDENTITY FOR OUR OWN REFERENCE. Eventually that’s all that counts. Na ?

Say?

Lyrix&Life

A Must Read from a New friend 

http://brendanantondabhi.blogspot.in/2013/05/whats-my-caste-to-you.html

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

English: Birth place of Mahatma Gandhi, Porban...

English: Birth place of Mahatma Gandhi, Porbandar, India. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

431950_467247616686192_1560311241_n

7 Comments

Filed under bridges, culture, Earth, Faith, friend, Inner Lights, letters from a People, Life, peace, people, Photography, poetry, Studio, tempted, Uncategorized, why, Words, world, Writing

7 responses to “Music from an Untouchable …

  1. Hey Rayla, I just read the comment you put on my post. This post is very touching and it is an honour that you considered my writing to be worthy of mention. Thank you.

  2. Pingback: Music from an Untouchable … | I N N E R D I A L E C T

  3. A thought provoking post indeed. Untouchables were by Caste at the beginning but now there are lots of Untouchables in our Society. We need to bridge that gap.

Leave a Reply

