Title dilemma

I have trouble finding titles, and cannot paint a double. Almost all the artists I know can do a whole  series, for me, it’s just that one. No repeats. There wasn’t even a plan.

….more below/

HARVEST/ Storms of Grace.  RN oil 36″x24″ gone to new owner

 What is she holding ?” I was asked. It took a while to answer,   ” What do you see ?” I asked.

” Flowers, fruit, with a few leaf, that means freshly picked. That means she doesn’t have a basket. Did you paint a basket?”

By now I was feeling a little embarrassed, like a forgetful mommy, ” It’s hidden!” I managed to say.

” Ah.” Came the happy reply. ” You artists are so clever. That’s why art is what it is. Full of meanings and codes. I see you are going through a happy phase in your life. See the colours, see the woman’s shy smile, see her hair, here and there, it is free…aarey so good this Impressionist Painting.”

I stared at him and nodded. It was a not so nice place in my life. I don’t know how the colours came out so bold. Even in this photograph it looks overdone, I thought it needed toning down and was too gaudy. But the gentleman was happy with the wild colours..

 How did you think to paint what I want ? I wanted a good symbol in my house, like this, no. Harvest. Positive. Not some storm or sad event like sad faces crying. These modern artists sometimes paint frightening things, and you are scared to look. This will make me feel – ok, flowers are happening in my life. What did you say you wanted to call this before ? “

I took a deep breath. ” Storms of Grace.”

There was a long pause before he spoke. “ Now why you want to complicate something so simple like a Harvest, uh.”

I gave him my grin. He shifted gears. ” You new artists always come up with frightening names also. Now what to call her?”

He meant the painting.

 Harvest” I replied.

” But I will think of the Storm you mentioned, why did you have to say that -“

” It’s a beautiful kind of storm…”

I saw in his face he suddenly preferred the complication. It added to the Painting.

” No. I like Storms of Grace.”

 

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Innerdialects

2 Comments

Filed under Art, Artist, culture, peace, people, Uncategorized, Writing

2 responses to “Title dilemma

  1. InnerDialect

    Salutya back sirrrrrrrrrrrr

  2. Storms of Grace !! hmmm!!
    bright and energizing … amazing creation !! I salute you Rayla 🙂

Leave a Reply

