Comfort Food*

Simple tomato chutney. We also had some goat c...

I never knew it *existed, except in books, but here it was all over me today as I walked past the Bakery and Food Joint next to it : The Aromas of fresh bread and Rotis, layered rolls and fine chopped green chillies and roasting onions. Kitsi had just got on the school bus and I have  a few minutes to start the next leg of my day, but this halts me, takes me miles all over an earth so seasoned with aroma…

Puri is made mainly from atta

Bhala Papri chaat in dahi with Saunth chutney

sigh.Tomatoes spiked with sweet chilly sauce, mint chutney, molten cheese garlic bread. If anyone noticed me lingering at the Bakers‘ they did not say. Buttered Puri, seasoned fried potatoes in curry leaf and cumin seed. Reminds me of a back yard run wild with Gourd and Ma’s coariander – and beans. Red pickles and green masala stew, piping hot, waiting as we hurried in –

dear God, You did all things so good and left my cooking to me ?? 🙂  But thanks for the trust here, thanks for teaching me to love it. Never understood but hospitality sure is a massive bridge. Also Tables and Meal times at home. With guests. I never courted hospitality, but of late, understand what a Social bridge it can be. Even a cup of tea, an icecream… heavens even shared chewing gum as we cross the street,,, and for some of us… even looking at food ads.. ( for me… oh I love that Baker..)

Garlic bread, dinner plate and my kitchen tabl...

Garlic bread, dinner plate and my kitchen table. It was expired but I ate it anyway. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

English: Ripe & Unripe fruits of the Curry lea...

Leave a comment

Filed under Chat, Citizen Responsibility, Faith, Food &Dine, friend, Healing, India, Personal